From December 3, Ukraine introduces mandatory self-isolation for persons returning from countries where the new strain of the Omicron coronavirus is rapidly spreading. Corresponding changes were made to Resolution No. 1236 during a meeting of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine on December 1.

The Republic of South Africa, the Republic of Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Republic of Mozambique and the Republic of Malawi are concerned.

Now persons who have been on the territories of the mentioned countries for more than 7 days during the last two weeks will have to go into self-isolation. The duration of self-isolation is 14 days.

It is important that self-isolation concerns citizens of Ukraine, foreigners and stateless persons permanently or temporarily residing in Ukraine, are spouses or children of citizens of Ukraine, who return to Ukraine from the territory of the above mentioned countries.

Availability of vaccination, negative test or certificate of convalescence is not a ground for failure to undergo self-isolation or its early termination.

Foreigners and stateless persons who permanently or temporarily do not reside in Ukraine and have been in the territory of these countries for more than seven days in the last 14 days are not allowed to enter at all.

Exceptions are foreigners and stateless persons permanently or temporarily residing on the territory of Ukraine, being spouses or children of Ukrainian citizens, employees of foreign diplomatic missions and consular institutions, representative offices of international organizations accredited in Ukraine and members of their families as well as other categories of foreigners and stateless persons by agreement with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The goal of the decision is to avoid the spread of the new and still insufficiently studied Omicron strain on the territory of Ukraine.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has already urged Ukrainians to refrain from travelling to countries where the specified variant of the coronavirus has already been detected.

Recall that Ukrainians who are on the territory of certain countries must comply with all anti-epidemic requirements and immediately contact local medical institutions in case of symptoms of the disease.

More information about the new strain of coronavirus can be found here.

Do you find this article helpful?
1 people find it useful

Read more:

The right to parenthood is an inalienable human right to become a father/mother of a child and have the rights and responsibilities for raising that child. Howe...
Georgia is one of the few countries in Europe where surrogacy is legal and regulated by law. Benefits Advantages of the surrogacy programme in Georgia:...
Surrogacy in Europe is legal in the following countries: Country Access to surrogacy Participation of foreigners in the program Comme...